Blogmas Day 18: I’m Dreaming of a Christmas Dinner . . .

blogmasbannerHello there lovely readers, and happy 18th day of Blogmas!!!

By this time, many of us have laid out our plans for Christmas Day, whether these include a dinner with family, a party with friends, or a swim in the pool at some tropical island resort. Each year, I spend Christmas Day at my grandparents’ house, opening presents, snacking on some baked goodies, and, of course, indulging in the coveted Christmas turkey dinner.

food2013

This is the delicious feast that awaits my family and I on Christmas Day. My grandmother starts getting the vegetables ready early in the morning, and then the rest of the family comes over in the afternoon to help prepare everything else. Fun fact: the pan that we use to cook the turkey in has been in my family for 5 generations!!! It was my grandfather’s grandmother’s turkey pan, and it has done over 100 years of turkeys.

Our Christmas dinner typically includes carrots, corn, potatoes, broccoli and cauliflower, peas, homemade buns, stuffing and, of course, turkey and gravy. My grandfather makes the gravy from scratch and it is beyond divine. I swear, I could eat mashed potatoes and my grandfather’s turkey gravy every day and not get sick of it; it is that good.

I love having Christmas dinner with my nearest and dearest, but since not all of my family members can be in town on Christmas Day, we all sit in the living room after dinner and phone those who could not make it to wish them all the best, and thank them for the lovely presents they mailed out.

In the days following Christmas, the leftovers from the giant turkey dinner are combined to make turkey casserole, which is easily my favourite food ever. Plus, then there’s turkey soup to look forward to.

What does your family do on Christmas Day???

P.S. Don’t forget to enter my Christmas giveaway here for a chance to win an Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Eyeshadow Palette!!! Giveaway closes December 24th at 11:59pm PST!!!

Blog logo

Write your reply here :) :)

