CoverGirl Plumpify BlastPRO Mascara

img_0259

img_0264

Good gracious, it has been far too long since I did a product review post. You’d think, given the Christmas holidays and all, that I would have been buying up beauty products like mad, but in fact, I did quite the opposite. I picked up this little number at least a month ago, and completely forgot about it until I saw it on my bathroom counter ledge and went “hmm, where’d that come from???” So earlier this week, I gave it a go, and thus far I am really enjoying it. Given this is one of Cover Girl’s newly released products, I thought I’d share my thoughts with you 🙂 🙂

Features:

  1. Newly designed brush coats lashes from roots to ends
  2. Volumizing formula
  3. No clumping
  4. Smudge-resistant
  5. Easy to remove
  6. Suitable for sensitive eyes
  7. Comes in three colours: very black, black, and black brown.

img_0262First and foremost, I want to talk about the newly designed brush, as it appears to be the major selling point of the product. Like with most CoverGirl mascaras, the brush came packaged separately from the tube so I could see what it looked like before it got all gooped up. As you can see in this picture, there are a lot of bristles. There are even fine bristles popping out of the top, perfect for getting at bottom lashes. All the major bristles are organized in a double-helix-like way, which helps coat lashes from every angle from roots to ends.

img_0272

However, I found I needed several coatings before I started to notice a difference. Also, even after I finished applying, my eyelashes didn’t have the KA-POW volume I was hoping for. They were well separated and evenly covered, but they looked much more natural. That isn’t entirely a bad thing, though. Sometimes it’s nice to wear a little mascara without looking like you glued falsies on.

Surprisingly, this mascara stayed on really well, and lived up to its claim of being smudge resistant. And when it came time to remove it, I didn’t even need proper makeup remover; just water and a touch of soap got it off. This does mean though that this is not the mascara to wear if you are planning to watch The Notebook or something because it will run like crazy, and I don’t think CoverGirl has released this product in a waterproof formula, so careful of that.

Something else to note is the size of the brush. Yes, it is massive, and it does grab all your eyelashes in one sweep, but it is so difficult to wield when trying to do your bottom lashes. The bristles at the tip help a little, but they are not ideal.

This mascara retails at $10.49 here in Canada, which is up there for a drugstore mascara, but I was able to snag it during a sale, so I believe it was around $7. I don’t know if I would purchase it again given my loyalty to trial sizes of Clinique’s High Impact Mascara, but it is a great mascara if you are looking for a more natural look. A 50x volume boost though??? I don’t know about that.

What do you think???

Blog logo

3 thoughts on “CoverGirl Plumpify BlastPRO Mascara

Write your reply here :) :)

